December 9, 2023


Serving the university community

UNILAG Law Faculty celebrates Prof. Ibidapo retirement

By Oyinkansola Alaka

The special retirement session of Professor Ibidapo Obe, was held on Thursday, October 5, 2023 at the faculty of law Boardroom.

He is recognized as a role model, exemplary leader, who made lasting marks in the growth and development of Nigerian and African Law Education.

According to members of the faculty, the honoree is said to have special attributes, which has culminated in the birth of many giants, in the Nigerian Legal profession and made the Prof., an enigma all through his thirty-four(34) years of service.

The vice chancellor of UNILAG, Professor Folasade Ogunsola OON, FAS, who was represented by the Deputy Vice- Chancellor (Development services), Professor Ayodele Atesunwa applauded the honoree for his laudable contributions to Nigerian and African law as well as the development and teaching of Human rights law in UNILAG.

Prof. Atsenuwa, a member of the faculty identified the “Justice and Culture statue” at the UNILAG Faculty of law Complex as another legacy of Professor Akinola Ibidapo Obe.

The peak of the event which was graced by the wife of the honoree was the ceremonial signing-out of the faculty Register by Professor Akinola Ibidapo-Obe to mark his last official attendance at the faculty of Law meeting as well as his last day at work in the Faculty having clocked 70 years.

In his remarks, Professor Akinola Ibidapo-Obe was full of gratitude to the rank, love, support and kind words showered on him. He described his thirty seven (37) years of sojourn in the teaching of Law which began at the Obafemi Awolowo University, ile-Ife before he moved to the UNILAG Faculty of law in 1989 as one laced with fulfillment and satisfaction.

The honoree re-assured his love and passion for the university of Lagos and appealed to the faculty members to keep the good work going.

Prof. Ibidapo-Obe was Head of Department of Public Law in 2013 and served as Dean of Law from 2014 to 2016.

About Author